The Ploen Trophy



Derrick Frost, a former member has very generously given the club a new trophy, to be known as the Ploen Cup, which is to be awarded annually to the runner who accumulates the most points according to their placings and attendance at the club's cross country fixtures.

In 1948, King Alfred School was set up in Ploen, in northern Germany, to provide a boarding education for children of the British forces who were then the occupying power. The school only existed for 11 years, but in that time, it established a remarkable reputation for sporting excellence, particularly in athletics.

The school was housed in a former German naval barracks, but it benefitted from a good cinder running track and an outstanding coach, Herr Herbert Sonntag, a German national 200m champion. Under his guidance the school achieved consistent team and individual success in the London Athletic Club's annual meeting, at the White City and in the Schleswig Holstein championships as well as holding its own against garrison and unit teams based in Germany. In particular, King Alfred School secured a firm grip on the Milocarian Trophy, the club's commemorative cup, awarded for competition among British schools at home and abroad, winning it 6 times between 1952 and 1958.

Among the athletes who contributed to the school's dominance and then later went on to perform at higher levels were Tim Graham, an Olympic relay silver medallist at Tokyo, Peter Lyons, an international at both athletics and gymnastics and Derrick Frost, our kind donor, who represented England at triple jump.

RULES FOR THE PLOEN TROPHY COMPETITION

1. The trophy will be competed for annually.

2. The annual winner will have his or her name engraved on the base of the trophy and will be given a suitably-engraved memento to keep.

3. The competition will count individual runners' best scores from a maximum of 5 of the season's eligible events, points being awarded for attendance and finishing position – see paragraph 5, below.

4. The eligible events will be those annotated as such on the annual fixture list published by the cross country secretary.

5. Points are to be awarded as follows:

- a. For taking part in and finishing an eligible race: 5 points.
- b. For finishing first of the Milocarian runners contesting an eligible race:

20 points.

c. For the remaining Milocarian finishers - 19 points for 2nd finisher, 18 points for the 3rd finisher and so on.

d. For finishing 1st, 2nd or 3rd overall in an eligible race 10, 6 or 3 points.

e. So, the maximum points score for any race is 35 points.

6. Individuals' best five points scores are to be aggregated by the cross country secretary and an order of merit compiled at the end of each season. The highest scorer will win the trophy.

7. A cup (The Wyvern Cup) will be presented to the leading lady shown in the overall finishing order.